The International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) is an assessed programme for students aged 16 to 19. It is respected by leading universities across the globe.

-International Baccalaureate Program 

Achieving an IB Diploma

There are two different parts that make up the IB diploma:

IB Tests

Students must take 6 different IB tests, and achieve a total of 24 points to get their IB diploma:

3 Standard Level (SL) tests

3 Higher Level (HL) tests

Each test is out of 7 points


Students can take up to 2 SL tests in junior year and the remainder of their tests in senior year

Theory of Knowledge

Students take the theory of knowledge class 2nd semester junior year and 1st semester senior year.

Through this class students work on:

Theory of Knowledge (ToK) essays

Creativity, Service, and Action (CAS)

Extended Essay (EE)

These sections also have point values attached to them which can factor into the total 24 points that students must attain.


It's actually a pretty rewarding and useful experience. I think I learned a lot about myself and my abilities, which definitely helped me grow as an individual, and I think I'll carry a lot of what I learned about myself from IB into college.

-IB Diploma Student

Class of 2018

I would have to say I enjoyed the classes the most out of any component of the Diploma. I have had excellent teachers who have taught me a lot in every subject. That being said, the other components of the diploma, TOK, CAS, and the EE differentiate the experience from just taking IB classes.

-IB Diploma Student

Class of 2018

I think [the IB Diploma] has a really good association for top universities and adults tend to be impressed. Precisely because so much work goes into getting the diploma, it is well respected, something that can be very useful.

-IB Diploma Student

Class of 2018


IB Mentor Project

Fairview High School

Boulder, CO

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now